The Archive Series

Hi! Welcome to the world of The Archive Series! Here’s a little bit about what the series is all about and why I decided to make this blog/website for it:

Story of Golden Touch and The Archive Series:

Golden Touch started out as a passion project last December. I had no idea where the story was going to go or even if there would be a sequel or room for more books. Well, I finished book 1 and realized that there had to be a book 2. By the time I was halfway through writing book 2, I realized I sort of didn’t ever want this series to end. I love these characters and the world I built so much. I knew there would be at least four books because I could already see book 3 in my line of sight and what book 3 would become and that book 3 would lead into a book 4. Anyways, long story short, I realized while writing book 2 that this would become an actual series. Longer than any series I’ve ever written before!

I’ve never experienced anything like this before. Usually by book 2 or 3 (as I’m learning with the St. Croix Falls trilogy) I lose steam for characters and the world and start to fall flat in my motivation to write it. But with the Archive Series, I’m genuinely excited about the world and the characters and I’m genuinely excited to keep going with these characters. I have so many character arc ideas and journeys I want to take these characters on. Seriously, I can’t wait for book 4, I can’t wait to do more with these characters and to deep and grow them and go along on this journey with them. I don’t see myself slowing down in that excitement and motivation any time soon. It’s a really amazing feeling. This isn’t just some book I’m writing to make money. I am 100% committed to this book and to these character’s stories whether they ever get published or not. If you want to learn more about Golden Touch you can find the blog post HERE which details how Golden Touch (and this series) came to be.

What I Plan To Do:

As I was writing book 2 and now book 3, I want to be super intentional with this series. The Archive Series first and foremost, started out as a passion project and it still is one. I want to enjoy every moment of writing this series. I don’t want to rush or feel any pressure to put out the next book in the series. I also want to make this series the very best it can be and that means writing the entire series from start to finish without ever publishing the first book. Before I publish Golden Touch I want to have written the final book. That will be a lesson in extreme patience for me because I love publishing books and I have a feeling I’ll want to share this one so much next year, but I really want to do this series justice and if I need to go back and change something or fix a detail in book 1 that makes like book 5 or something more coherent and make sense, then I want to have the freedom to do that. In an interview with Victoria Schwab, Kiersten White was saying how one day she’d love to just write a series from start to finish without ever publishing a single book until the entire thing is done. And I realized… I have that creative freedom. That thing, that she wants to do so much is something I can do, so why not? I’ve wanted to write a series from start to finish without ever publishing the first book until it’s done with for a long time too. The thought of keeping a series all to myself for that long though and making zero money off of it the entire time just kind of scared me for a while… But The Archive Series is too important to me to not put it out there as the very best it can be. I don’t feel any pressure to have it published and stuff right away. I can keep it to myself for a while while I work on it.

This series also delves into a whole lot of history stuff. A lot of different historical periods, one of which I want to be particularly sensitive to and really do it justice. One of the characters goes through a lot having grown up in a time period that wasn’t very kind to him, and I just want to make sure that my history facts and his experiences are historically accurate before I ever even publish book 1. That’s another reason I want to be so careful with this series and take my time with it because it does deal with such an expansive time line with several characters from all different cultural backgrounds and time periods and I just want to do all the time periods and cultural backgrounds the justice they deserve.

Progress So Far:

At the moment I have book 1 and 2 written. They could probably go through one or two more rounds of edits (especially book 2), but I edited them enough to where I can set them aside with a clear conscious and work on book 3, which is what I’m working on right now while I simultaneously finish editing and revising St. Croix Falls #3.

As of today, book 3 is at 30,000 words! One of my goals for September is to get to 50,000 words in it by the end of the month. I’m not super strict about my goals for my Archive series. I take as long or as short an amount of time I want to with each book. I wrote book 1 in like a month, book 2 took four months and so far it’s been two months since I first started writing book 3. I do want to have it finished and do plan to have it finished by the end of this year, though. That’s like a for sure goal that will happen.

Books of The Archive Series: 

Book #1: Golden Touch 

Book #2: Emerald Phantom 

Book #3: Scarlet Phoenix 

Book #4: Untitled 

Themes of the Archive Series:

  • Redemption
  • Reconciliation
  • Second chances
  • Sacrifice
  • Forgiveness
  • Your past doesn’t have to define you

Series Quote:

“Magic is just science we don’t understand yet.” – Arthur C. Clarke

Comparison Titles/Books, movies and TV shows that inspired the series:

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
  • The Road to El Dorado
  • National Treasure
  • Netflix’s Outerbanks

The series is currently in progress. Book one and two are in the editing stages and book 3 is in the drafting stage. Make sure to check back often to get updates!